Date of birth:
Born and Raised in Johannesburg South Africa, Moved to Cairns Australia
Rixen Cableways , LKI Clothing, Breathe Boardwear , CTRL Wakeboards,
Swimming, Surfing, Golf
Favourite athletes:
Stephanie Gilmore, Ryan Sheckler, Rob Dyrdek, Roger Federer


I’m originally born and raised in Johannesburg South Africa and started my passion in watersports. My dad was the one that introduced me to the watersports industry at the age of 5 ½. With my first ever set of Skies. I represented my country for 3 events skiing and received my South African Protea Colors before age 12 and found myself breaking records at an early age. I went to America to get professional coaching and my dad was the one that discovered wakeboarding.

This is when I made the transition into wakeboarding behind the boat. It was a sport that was new and more towards the extreme sports lifestyle that fitted my personality and I picked it up quite fast. I became the 2005 Junior World Champion and placed 3rd in the Australian Pro Tour against top well known riders and never looked back.

In 2006 I moved from South Africa to Cairns Australia to Tropical North Queensland where I discovered this new sport called Cable Wakeboarding. Cable Ski Cairns opened so close to my house that it made it easier to ride everyday. I ended up selling my Mastercraft X star when my dad got terminally ill and I could focus all my time on him.

"Angelika Schriber"

I found myself riding a lot more during the week and weekend at the Wake Park picking it up really fast and this is where I made the transition from being a boat rider into a wake park rider due to the fact it was closer, cheaper to ride and I didn’t need anyone to tow me behind the boat.

I have been on the professional circuit for 5 years traveling internationally for more than 6 months of the year, riding, competing internationally, filming at different parks throughout Asia, America, Europe, Middle East and Australia and marketing myself around the globe.

"Angelika Schriber"

I follow the endless summer each year competing only in the major tour series: the Wake Park World Series and Monster Triple Crown events and any invitational comps I get invited to throughout the world, I have so much passion and drive and will continue to push female wakeboarding around the world.


What are you looking for to accomplish?

One of my biggest goals I would like to accomplish is to have my own business one day. I would love to have my own full size Wake Park and coach and nurture a team of young kids for the future generation of our sport and continue to grow the side of female wakeboarding.

"Angelika Schriber"To be able to get wakeboarding onto billboards and be a brand ambassador / sports model for companies to be able to get to know what Wake Parks are all about.

What would be your greatest achievement?

To have my own business in the wake industry- OWN my own Wake Park.

Win the Transworld trick of the year for 2015.

Get Sponsored by Red Bull or a well known drink sponsor.

What kind of difficulties does your sport’s performance involve?

My profession is very physical on your entire body. Staying fit and healthy is very important as you are constantly using all your muscles to perform.

"Angelika Schriber"

What makes you feel satisfied when performing your sport?

Just being able to ride my wakeboard makes me happy, to be able to expressing myself and my style on the water. You can be creative and do what ever you want to do on your wakeboard. One of the greatest satisfactions I get when I am on the water is learning a new trick. 

"Angelika Schriber"

It’s the best feeling when you work so hard and you learn something new. It’s never ending and you never get bored when you’re riding. There is always something you can change or add to in order to make the trick more styli.

Where do you practice your techniques when being alone?

When I am at a wake park, I rarely practice alone by myself. I am constantly riding with a lot of my pro wakeboarding friends and I ride and travel a lot with my fellow companion and Pro rider Matty Hasler which is really awesome as we film a lot together and I get to see how the trick looks on film. 

One of my favorite places to ride at that I feel pushes me to be a better rider is Thai Wake Park in Thailand. It’s a place that I feel I can excel a lot quicker as I only focus on riding everyday!!

"Angelika Schriber"

What do you do during your training which is key to your success?

I like to start my day off in the morning with either a run around the lake or a spin bike session before breakfast and before I ride. I feel this starts my day so well and I can focus on the day ahead with a clear mind.

Before I am on the water I make sure I warm up. Once I am on the water I ride until I am tired and want to stop. There is no time limit it just depends on how I am feeling on the day and what my body is feeling which is very important to listen to what your body is asking sometime, as you cannot push yourself too much.

"Angelika Schriber"

I usually ride until Lunch time and have a solid break until I go out on the water again for my last set in the evening. I drink lots of fluids to ensure I am hydrated and ensure I have fruit to keep me going.

One of the most two important things which is important is to always HAVE FUN and ride with your friends and the second most important thing for me after I finish wakeboarding is a good stretch session to complete the day.

What are you most nervous about when competing?

All I focus on is to complete my entire run and ensure that I am happy with how I rode and I gave it my all on the day. I don’t get too nervous when I am competing as I tell myself I am my own competitor and I just need to take my run that I have in my head step by step as I know how to do each trick. I just tell myself, I need to just give it my all and be aggressive and go for it when I am on the water. 

"Angelika Schriber"

Who would you say is your biggest fan and why?

My dad was definitely my biggest fan, he was the one who got me into watersports and without him in my life now all I can do is carry his drive and passion everywhere I go as I know he would be super proud of how far I  have come. Secondly would be my entire Family, my boyfriend and his family. They have been behind me from the start and support me on this journey. 

"Angelika Schriber"

What is the best piece of advice you have been ever given?

Do what you love, follow your passion, work hard and things will come- never give up.

"Angelika Schriber"

What are your future plans?

I have a few things in the pipe line that I need to make a decision on to steer me in the right direction but for now I wouldn’t mind spend 6 months back home in Australia and 6 months in America competing in the major stops and concentrating on filming at every location I travel to!! Plans always change so my thing is to keep open minded and do the things that will best benefit me 

"Angelika Schriber"

What are your tips for those who begin now?

Grab yourself a wakeboard and head to a wake park and try it out if you have never done it before. It’s a COOL sport where you can ride and hang out with your friends and shape the way you want to ride with your own style and influence.

When you start getting into wakeboarding, one of my crucial tips I can give you is make sure you get your basics down and have a good body position on your board. Understanding the tension of the cable is vital to progress and learning to ride of both left and right foot around the cable is something that is so important to progress. BASICS ARE THE KEY – BE YOURSELF and BE HUMBLE!!

"Angelika Schriber"